top of page

Afterpants: Dharmundies #6

Previously. I wrote about the 5 main Myo-o Wisdom Kings. These are venerated by almost all sects of Japanese Buddhism (assuming they practice any of the esoteric rites) but there are a few more that I should mention.



Myo-o #6


Name: Ususama Myō'ō


Function: Tutelary Spirit of the toilet...apparently...and part time actor.


Appearance: Some differences with this one; he's almost always portrayed in wrathful stance, ie. a sort of dancing pose where one leg is shown raised. AND one of his names is "Fire Head" wherein, literally...his hair if fire.

"Ususama assumes a variety of wrathful forms with two, four, six or eight arms and is often adorned with skulls and snakes and enveloped in flames."


I'll link to the wikipedia here.


Tools of the trade: Sword, Staff, scepter and broccoli


Quote: "You don't want to live in a society like this, yet you don't want to do anything about it."


Hobbies: Hanging out in bathrooms, birthin' babies and competitive archery.


Underwear: He likes things super clean this one....tighty whities without a doubt.


At first I was reluctant to even write about this one. I mean..."Buddha of the toilet..." really? then I remembered, Shinto (especially) focuses on purity. I mean Buddhism talks about it quite a lot but with Shinto, it's basically their only rule.

In Tendai Buddhism, he replaces #5 for the Guardian of the North.

Also, though I never saw it personally, his image gets put into a lot of bathrooms.



Comments


bottom of page