top of page

Afterpants : Nether Regions PT. 20 (Niflehel)



Transparency...I personally/spiritually tend to shy away from Norse myth. This is not because I hate being Caucasian or anything. It's because Japanese folk belief makes more sense to me. (Also, I know for sure that some Asatru sects use their faith to justify racist thinking. (I Donno about Shinto....mean probably, but in English, I Can literally contact a group/go to a website where the group will just be honest about their racism....sooo....hard pass.


Anyway...today's Nether Region is Niflhel.

Fun fact ( I just learned this second) Niflhel and Niflheim are not the same place.

While the root word "nifl" means "mist", the two regions are similar with ice, snow and mist defining them but Niflheim is ABOVE Niflhel on the world tree.


Allow me to give yet another "influenced by Christianity" alert. While author Snorri was certainly descended from the great viking kings, he was in fact a Christian. This means that we have to take his interpretation of Norse folklore with a grain of salt.

That being said, Niflhel is where "bad ppl" go.

It is super cold.

It is also the home to a variety of monsters.


It's under Niflheim.

Odin went there.

Apparently some frost giants have been there too.


That's basically it.


The Afterpants metaphor I would use is...Chinese boxer briefs. They might look good, but they stretch out to the point of uselessness almost immediately.


Not a fan. 2 out of 5 Hellbriefs. (Maybe a few extra points for it being the basement of the universe.)





Comments


bottom of page