top of page

Afterpants: 10 Hell Kings and Their Underwear.

Sorry, I looked for a more clever way to say it...I was leaning towards

"The Emperors New Smallclothes" but it just doesn't say what i wanted to.


Anyway, Afterpants is starting a new series based on the 10 Hell Kings in (Japanese) Buddhism.

FYI: The 10 Hell Kings are meant to judge your behavior in the living world.

Starting with meeting the 1st King 7 days after your death and then, at successive anniversaries. Your lawyer will be Jizo Bosatsu...but I donno if I'll include him.


UPDATE: I began this section of Afterpants by trying to do the 10 Hell Kings and instead did 4 entries of Myo-o Buddhas before I realized what I was doing. So...What I'll do now is go back, change the icon to something like "Scary Buddhist Guys and their underwear" or something.



What I'm thinking of doing is writing a sort of bio for each Hell King and then trying to guess what kind of underwear they wear based on their function in hell.

I donno. I mean, as they are Japanese and thousands of years old, it's likely they all wear fundoshi but perhaps they've modernized...

Speaking of modernization, the last time I was in Tokyo...Osaka? I can't remember, I went to this ginormous mall to find these undies called "FundoshiNext"

They were terrible. a super flimsy piece of spandex sewn to an elastic waistband.

I twisted the waist around and around and could never get it to fit the way a strip of cotton cloth wound around the waist does.


Anyway. Will probably do the first Hell King today.



Comments


bottom of page