top of page

Afterpants: Dharmundies (The Hell Kings 1)


Well, after I accidentally did the first 4 Wisdom Kings (and felt obligated to do the rest)


I can get back to the original plan which was to list the ACTUAL Hell Kings.





Hell King #1. Shinko-o


Name: Shinko-o (also Fudo Myo-o...I'm not sure if he alone has the distinction of being both a Hell King and a Wisdom King...but if you ask the Tibetans, they'll tell you they're emanations of Adi-Buddha...or...whatever...)


Function: First Hell King ( You see him on day 7 of your afterlife), sometimes poses as a missionary, just to throw people off.


Appearance: Normally depicted in white, royal robes of course...can get ugly...


Tools of the trade: His big crown of course, but (like the others) attended by 2 scribes...which have pens and paper; and a list of your biggest sins. Also, a big stick...this is apparently so he can wave it like a magic wand when he pronounces sentence and finally a pair of rubber gloves... sinners are sometimes sticky..


Quote: "I WILL find out who killed my husband, with or without your help!"


Hobbies: Judging the dead and Tennis...Hell can get rather boring!


Underwear: Well, we covered this above (see 1.) but...maybe because he has more than one job, he dresses differently for each...uhmmm...mostly spandex, mini-boxer briefs...He likes the comfort AND support!


In his role as the first Hell King, he's a lot less wrathy. He (like the others, sits placidly behind a desk while the sins are read out. I mean...I donno, like human judges, his whole job is to sit behind a big desk and make decisions based on evidence.

But again...and I can't stress this enough...if I ran Hell, everything would be intent based.





Comments


bottom of page